Benefits and Requirements


Minimum Requirements

  • High school graduate or GED equivalent
  • Must be a U.S. Citizen or Legal Permanent Resident (LPR)
  • Valid Utah Driver’s License
  • Must be at least 21 years old by date of LEO certification
  • Pass pre-employment physical fitness test
  • 1.5 mile run, push-ups, plank, vertical jump
  • Successful completion of the examination process which may include oral interviews, physical examination, background investigation, truth verification examination, psychological examination and evaluation, and drug screen.

Lateral Transfer

  • Year for year salary match
  • 40 hours preloaded vacation (certain criteria must be met)
  • Vacation accrual match (certain criteria must be met)
  • Take-home vehicle program - 40-mile radius
  • $5,000 tuition reimbursement

To be eligible for  the 40 hours of preloaded vacation time and vacation accrual match benefits, laterals must meet the following criteria:

  • A minimum of three years of certified law enforcement officer experience at the time of hire; and
  • Currently employed as a certified law enforcement officer; and
  • Utah POST law enforcement officer certification or qualify to be certified as such.