Business License Procedure

Starting a New Business in South Jordan City

Business Registration

Register your business with the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Corporations and Commercial Code. This online OneStop Business Registration site is a secure online service available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. You can also reach the Division of Corporations by calling 877-526-3994.

Employer Identification Number (EIN)

An Employer Identification Number (EIN) is also known as a Federal Tax Identification Number, and is used to identify a business entity. Generally, businesses need an EIN. If you are a sole proprietor with no employees your social security number can serve as your Federal Tax ID number. This is a free service offered by the Internal Revenue Service. You can get an EIN through the OneStop Business Registration or you can apply for this number online through the IRS.

Utah Sales Tax Number (if Applicable)

A Utah sales tax number can be obtained online through the OneStop Business Registration. You can also apply using Form TC-69, Utah State Business and Tax Registration. For more information and to find out if you need a Utah Sales Tax number contact the Utah State Tax Commission. More information is available by reading Sales and Use Tax General Information (Pub 25) (PDF).

State & Federal Regulatory License (if Applicable)

The Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL) regulates over 60 occupations and professions. To determine if your occupation, profession, or business is regulated view the DOPL checklist or call 866-275-3675.

Other regulatory licenses may be required by one or more of the following:

Health Department (if Applicable)

Contact the Salt Lake County Health Department to find out if you require Health Department approval. Or call them at 385-468-4100.

South Jordan City Business License Application

Complete the online business license application

Other Helpful Resources for Business Owners & Consumers

Municipal Code